Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max shown from the front and rear in Cosmic Orange.

Apple · released 19 September 2025

Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max

Apple's large 2025 Pro model pairs a 6.9-inch 120 Hz OLED display with the A19 Pro chip, three 48 MP rear cameras and the longest stated video-playback figure in the iPhone 17 range.

UK launch price: from £1,199. That is context, not the price we use to judge a current deal.

Current checked offers

Prices for this phone.

Check the storage, colour, seller and total for each offer.

Checked10 Sept, 12:10
Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max shown from the front and rear in Cosmic Orange.

new · UK model · unlocked

Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max 256 GB — Cosmic Orange

Cosmic Orange · listed by John Lewis

Sold by John Lewis · fulfilled by John Lewis

£1,099

Delivered · all mandatory fees included

In stock when checked

Our take: Looks good, but…

John Lewis showed the exact new, unlocked Cosmic Orange 256 GB handset in stock at £1,099 with free standard delivery and a two-year guarantee. Apple listed the same configuration at £1,199 when checked on 22 August 2026; that comparison is older than this retailer check.

The catch

It is still a £1,099 phone, and John Lewis did not state when the £100 reduction would end. Apple also publishes no fixed model-specific software-support end date.

Check details and sources
  1. John Lewis iPhone 17 Pro Max 256 GB Cosmic Orange listing · checked 10 Sept, 12:10
  2. Apple iPhone 17 Pro technical specifications · checked 22 Aug, 18:11
  3. Apple UK iPhone 17 Pro Max 256 GB Cosmic Orange store configuration · checked 22 Aug, 18:11

Our take

The big screen, long stated battery life and flexible camera system are strong, but the Pro Max only makes sense when its premium over smaller flagships is worth paying for you.

The useful specifications

Display
6.9-inch Super Retina XDR OLED with ProMotion, up to 120Hz
Chip
Apple A19 Pro
UK configurations checked
256 GB storage / RAM not stated
Cameras
48 MP main, 48 MP ultrawide and 48 MP telephoto
Battery
Up to 37 hours of video playback (manufacturer claim)
Charging
USB-C fast charging plus MagSafe and Qi2 wireless charging up to 25 W; charging accessories sold separately
SIM
Dual SIM (nano-SIM and eSIM) with dual-eSIM support; provider support varies
Protection
IP68 under IEC 60529; resistance is not permanent and liquid damage is not covered by warranty

Exact configurations checked

Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max 256 GB

SIM configuration
Dual SIM (nano-SIM and eSIM) with dual-eSIM support; provider support varies
Good for
  • large-screen video and games
  • long manufacturer-rated battery life
  • telephoto photography and pro video features
Watch out for
  • high outright price
  • no fixed published software-support end date
  • charging adapter and MagSafe charger are sold separately

Where these facts came from

Researched 22 August 2026. We favour model-specific manufacturer pages and leave gaps where an exact fact was not published.

Model sources

  1. Apple iPhone 17 Pro technical specifications
  2. Apple iPhone 17 Pro and Pro Max announcement
  3. Apple UK iPhone 17 Pro Max 256 GB store configuration

Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max 256 GB sources

  1. Apple iPhone 17 Pro technical specifications
  2. Apple UK iPhone 17 Pro Max 256 GB store configuration